Tags

, ,

FYI: UpdateDragonfly

Well it begins with a “u”!

Seriously, I thought I owed an explanation to myself and anyone who reads my blog as to my prolonged delay in posting.

It’s summer!  Realy!  If you read my bio you know that I operate a Bed & Breakfast in New Braunfels, Texas.  This is the home of the Guadalupe and Comal rivers and Schlitterbahn – the largest water park in North America (72 acres).  Needless to say I was moderately busy hosting visitors, serving breakfast, making beds, cleaning bathrooms and all that Innkeeper stuff.  It’s still my favorite hat, but has a pretty short season.  Seems to spend more time on the rack these days.

It’s summer.  It’s hot and it’s dry.  #$%! is it dry.  I spend at least an hour – usually more – outside TRYING to water my drooping, thirsty and dying foliage.  It is almost a Droughtfutile effort, especially with the Stage 3 water restrictions – one day every other week, before 10 AM and after 8 PM.  I’ve already been busted once by the Water Police and issued a warning.  I will have to improve my covert operations in the future.

I have enrolled in a edX/HarvardX online university course – CS50 – Beginning Computer Science & Programming.  It is HARD!  At least for me.  I claim I am too old, but class members and the instructors insist that no one is too old.  It’s like learning a language.  I know that sounds cliche but it really is.  I feel so small and block-headed programmingwhen I see/hear/read the twenty-something college students spit out lines  of code and use acronyms that I have to search the web for.  Incidentally, if anyone out there knows C programming or is versed in CS and would be willing to give me some pointers, my email is kimberly_harrison1@sbcglobal.net.  Thanks in advance.

If that is not enough, I plan to start another edX course in grammar and spelling and word use.  I hope it helps to improve my reading and writing skills.  Be assured, I will be using my blog to test some of my new knowledge.  Relax, I men grammar and actual word use, not codin.  Although that might prove interesting.

So, until next time – ‘v’ – keep the faith, whatever it might be.