Tags

, , , , ,

FYI: Words with Q not followed by U

I like words (obviously) and word games, especially Scrabble, Yatzee. I typically avoid online gamesbut  I recently began playing Words With Friends with my sister.  FYI – her husband is a journalist and they both have sizable vocabularies and honed lexicographic skills (must run in the family).  I really enjoy the challengeQ of trying to out-word her – except when left with the infamous lone Q and no available U to be had.

I have been in just such a situation at least twice in the past month.  I admit that my vocabulary of obscure words is not as developed as it should be, especially when engaging in intricate word games.  However, I have added several “lone Q” words to my mental dictionary for just such competitive situations.  My personal word game rules do not allow the use of a dictionary prior to playing the word.  In WWF, if their dictionary does not recognize the word the virtual controller will not let you play it.  FYI – their dictionary sucks!  Thus the inability to use that Q – twice!

I list here some “lone Q” words from several reputable sources.

  • Burqa
  • Cinq
  • Coq
  • *Faqir
  • Niqab
  • Qabala
  • Qadi
  • *Qaid/s
  • *Qanat/s
  • Qanun
  • * Qat/s
  • *Qi/s
  • Qiana
  • Qibla
  • *Qindar
  • Qirsh
  • *Qoph
  • *Qwerty
  • *Sheqel
  • Souq
  • *Tranq
  • Umiaq
  • Yaqona

* These words are recognized by WWF dictionary

There were many more “lone Q” words but I think this list suffices the point of my post.  I leave it to you to look up the definitions.  I find that helps me remember them, at least for a while.Scrabbl